Skip to main
United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (UNESCWA)
Headquarter: Beirut, Lebanon
United Nations System
Beirut, Lebanon


The Economic Commission for Western Asia (ECWA) was established on 9 August 1973 pursuant to Economic and Social Council’s resolution 1818 (LV). Its purpose was to stimulate economic activity in member countries, strengthen cooperation between them promote development.

In recognition of the social component of its work, the Commission was renamed the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA) under Economic and Social Council resolution 69/1985 of July 1985.

ESCWA was initially located in Beirut (1974-1982), moved to Baghdad (1982-1991) and Amman (1991-1997), and subsequently returned to Beirut, its permanent headquarters, where it has remained to this day.


  • To support economic and social development in member countries 
  • To promote interaction and cooperation between member countries
  • To encourage the exchange of experience, best practice and lessons learned
  • To achieve regional integration and ensure interaction between Western Asia and other regions
  • To raise global awareness of the circumstances and needs of member countries


ESCWA provides a framework for the formulation and harmonization of sectoral policies for member countries, a platform for congress and coordination, a home for expertise and knowledge, and an information observatory.

ESCWA activities are coordinated with the divisions and main offices of the Headquarters of the United Nations, specialized agencies, and international and regional organizations, including the League of Arab States and its subsidiary bodies, and the Gulf Cooperation Council.

UNESCWA is hiring now
20 job openings